Zawistowski Announces Bid to be Chairman of Ohio Republican Party

PRESS RELEASE
April 2, 2013

Zawistowski Announces Bid to be Chairman of Ohio Republican Party
Tom Zawistoski Letter to GOP- PDF
Tom Zawistowski Resume – PDF

Kent, OH – Today, Tom Zawistowski, President of the We the People Convention and Executive Director of the Portage County TEA Party, announced his bid to be Chairman of the Ohio Republican Party which is being vacated by retiring Chairman Bob Bennett.  His candidacy was announced in a letter to Chairman Bennett, and the members of the Republican Party State Central Committee, in which Zawistowski said, “I am doing so because I believe that my leadership in the grassroots part of our Party over the last several years was successful in bringing people with many diverse viewpoints together. I believe that I am uniquely qualified to unify the fiscal conservative, social conservative, and moderate Republicans here in Ohio and extend my previous success to the entire Republican Party.”  Zawistowski is the recent past president of the state-wide Ohio Liberty Coalition and has been running the Portage County TEA Party since July of 2009.  He and his wife Nanette have owned a small communications business in Kent, OH for nearly 25 years. He also developed and ran the highly successful We the People Convention, which has been held in Columbus the past two years. The vote on the Chairmanship is scheduled for April 25, 2013.

Zawistowski went on to say, “I have been outspoken, both publicly and privately, about things that I have not agreed with that the party or elected officials have done.  However, people inside and outside the party know that few people have worked as hard, or done as much, as I have personally done in both 2010 and 2012 to elect Republican candidates. As Chairman, I will work even harder to end the in-fighting, grow and strengthen our coalition, and implement the changes that are necessary for success.  My goal will be to lead the Ohio Republican Party to new levels of effectiveness, efficiency and productivity that will benefit all citizens of our beloved State of Ohio.”

Comments are closed.